2020 MMA Member Awards

Every year, the Michigan Museums Association (MMA) presents awards to members for exceptional programs, exhibits, and individuals that made an impact during the year. 2020 has been challenging on many fronts, so we're putting our typical awards program on hold in favor of celebrating MMA members, individuals and institutions, that supported, adapted, and innovated this year. 

Join us via Zoom on November 19 at 3:00 pm
to celebrate this year's award recipients!

Please note: there may have been some technical issues with the nomination form or people missing from the flood list. If you submitted a nomination that you don't see here, or helped in Midland or Sanford with someone who isn't listed,
please contact Lisa

Clean Up Warriors

In the midst of a global pandemic, and on a holiday weekend, these MMA members pulled on their boots and masked up to help the Midland Area Historical Society and the Sanford Centennial Museum after two dams in the Midland area failed and the museums were flooded. 

  • CMU Museum Studies Program (Jay Martin, Brad Collins, Alexandra Gamicchia, Haley Hill, Kristen Lehnert, Kaye Reimers, and Marc Van Horn)
  • Kate Crosby
  • Julia Gourley Donohue
  • Diane Gutenkauf
  • Craig Hadley
  • Geoffe Haney
  • Joseph Hines
  • Stephanie Hornyak
  • Sarah Humes
  • Christy Kincaid
  • Kelsey Laymon
  • Connie Locker
  • Megan McAdow
  • Jim McCabe
  • Susan McCabe
  • Megan McCullen
  • Robert Myers
  • Erin Pilarski
  • Thor Rasmussen
  • Jen Richmond-Ananbeh
  • Emily Shirilla
  • Monica Taylor
  • Hannah Thoms
  • Michelle Tomasek
  • Rachel Veramay
  • Jake Van Wyk
  • Larry Wagenaar
  • Holly Waldenmeyer
  • Brittany Williams
  • Jared Yax


These organizations transitioned during the COVID-19 pandemic to fulfill their mission in a new way. 

  • Air Zoo
  • Berrien County Historical Association
  • Harbor Springs Area Historical Society
  • Michigan Supreme Court Learning Center
  • Sanilac County Historical Society

COVID Crusaders

These MMA members served their community during the COVID-19 pandemic. 

  • Christy Kincaid, Air Zoo
  • Tobi Voigt, Michigan History Center
  • Edsel and Eleanor Ford House

Colleague Champions

These MMA members went above and beyond to help a colleague or organization in their work this year. 

  • Theodore J. Bornhorst, A. E. Seaman Mineral Museum at Michigan Tech
  • Kayla Chenault, Detroit Historical Society
  • Malcolm Cottle, Ruth Mott Foundation/Applewood
  • Steve Crawford, Kalamazoo Valley Museum
  • Christian Greer, Michigan Science Center
  • Sara Gross, Michigan History Center
  • Tom Howes, Kalamazoo Valley Museum
  • Nheena Ittner, UP Children’s Museum
  • Andrew Kercher, Port Huron Museum
  • Felicia Konrad-Bevard, Edsel & Eleanor Ford House
  • Dean Nasserdine, Detroit Historical Society
  • Katie Ponsetto, Historic Charlton Park
  • Katherine Prichard, University of Michigan Museum of Art
  • Sarah Schleicher, Cranbrook Institute of Science
  • Nancy Swords, Cranbrook Institute of Science
  • Brittany Williams, Kalamazoo Valley Museum

Michigan Museums Association       313-334-7643       PO Box 5246, Cheboygan, MI 49721      lcbrisson@michiganmuseums.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software